Frequently Asked Questions

  • Can I try GREENSPECTOR?

    Of course! If you are interested in a demonstration or a pilot of our product, do not hesitate to contact us.

  • How is GREENSPECTOR licensed?

    GREENSPECTOR licenses are available for annual rental, with corrective and scalable maintenance included (major and minor versions) as well as user support. We offer different levels of licenses that can be adapted to your context and your number of projects. The unit of account is the number of active projects simultaneously, which means that you can "archive" completed projects at any time to create new projects.

  • Where is GREENSPECTOR installed?

    The GREENSPECTOR suite is composed of: a main server, a source code analysis server, and various plug-ins and probes according to your needs. Plug-ins and probes are installed in your environment: developers workstations, continuous integration platform, etc. For hosting servers, we recommend to retain our offer of "hybrid" installation which presents the best quality-performance-price ratio. In this configuration, the main server of GREENSPECTOR is hosted by us (you benefit from all the flexibility of a "cloud" offer) but the server analyzing source code is installed in your premises (thus the source code of your Software does not go out of your internal network). As an option, we offer a "full cloud" installation or, alternatively, install the solution entirely on your servers ("on premises" offer).

  • Which development languages do you support?

    Software source code analysis is one of the features of GREENSPECTOR. Note that we recommend a broader approach, supported by measuring and steering progress and not restricted to the "static" analysis of the code. That being said, to answer your question, the languages and frameworks currently supported are: - Java, Android - JS, Angular JS, Node JS - HTML, CSS

  • Do you have an "education" price ?

    We are convinced that the learning of eco-design is a must in the training of future computer scientists. That is why we offer higher education institutions educational licenses at significantly reduced prices. If you represent an educational institution, contact us (link to the contact page)

  • What is the difference between GREENSPECTOR and SONARQube?

    SONARQube is a powerful platform for static analysis of source code. The rules repositories are varied and relevant in the field of code quality, security, performance… GREENSPECTOR is a high-performance platform for ecodesign of software. This approach relies in part on static analysis of source code, based on an exclusive repository of carefully selected laboratory-validated rules for the gains they make in terms of energy efficiency. But the approach also relies on the ability to measure the consumption of resources and energy on hardware platforms, for your different cases of functional tests or why not during the load tests. In conclusion, SONARQube and GREENSPECTOR are complementary because they do not pursue the same objectives. The proof: if you already have a SONARQube license, we propose a plug-in allowing to carry out audits of GREENSPECTOR rules via your usual SONARQube.

  • I do performance, I don't need to do eco-design?

    When we do eco-design, we work on the efficiency of the software, that is to say on the optimization of the consumption of resources sufficient to meet the need of the user, and this while maintaining the same performance. When working on performance, we focus on optimizing the response time. The performance approach can in some cases run against efficiency: for example for a website, to quickly display the page one will use several servers (CDN), to carry out treatments at the end of loading of the page… Which will consume a lot of resources. Improving the level of ecodesign at the same time as performance and working on both domains will allow you to go in the same direction: more performance with fewer resources consumed.

  • Do you offer one-time audit services?

    Yes. We are primarily a software publisher, but we carry out audits by supporting the expertise of our experts on the use of our tools. This is often an opportunity to demonstrate that an efficiency approach can resolve concerns that have resisted performance approaches. We can also recommend competent partners who can carry out these audits for you.

  • What is the difference between GREENSPECTOR and the market performance tools?

    They are complementary. Performance tools can be simplified in two areas: resource profiling tools (Profiler JVM for example) and monitoring tools (New Relic, App Dynamics, etc.). GREENSPECTOR is based in some cases on the former, while simplifying the findings and providing the developer with concrete actions. No need to be an expert or master these tools, GREENSPECTOR helps the developer. If further analysis is to be made, the profiling tools can take over from GREENSPECTOR. For the second types of tools (Monitoring), they provide resource consumption information but in a production context and continuously. GREENSPECTOR's approach is to work more upstream (during development) to detect problems of over-consumption as soon as possible. In addition, GREENSPECTOR will work on a more targeted perimeter (such as functional tests), which will allow the developer to identify faster the link between resource consumption and its code, thus being even more efficient in its corrections.

  • Do you have a training offer?

    As a publisher, we support our customers. Any installation of our tool is accompanied by future users training. This training begins with the reminder of the important stakes related to the energy consumption of computing in the context of scarcity of energies that we know. We also offer our customers additional training on the use of a particular module of our tool. If you are a digital services company (ESN, formerly "SSII") do not hesitate to contact us to know more about our partnership program.

  • How much will I gain by optimizing my application?

    That's a good question, thank you for asking. More seriously: like any step of progress, it depends closely on the initial situation, the particular context in which you are, and the efforts you will make to progress. If you are already an eco-design expert, if your team is at the forefront of expertise on the subject, your application will probably be highly optimized and the gains to be expected will be low. On the other hand, if - as is often the case - your application has been developed above all with respect to deadlines, load and functional requirements without any particular efficiency research, then it is likely that the margin for progress will be more important.

  • But still?

    We make no promises about the winnings you can get… But we are proud of the gains we have allowed our customers to get in the past, such as 69% fewer resources on a smartphone, 9% less energy on a native AOSP Android core application (!) or a response time divided by 3 for a business application used by 120,000 employees.

  • What is eco-design software?

    The eco-design of software is an approach which consists in applying the principles of eco-design to the production process of software. It is therefore a global approach aimed at reducing the negative impacts of the software on the environment at all stages of its life cycle: design, manufacture, use, and end of life. Research on Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) of software is still scarce. It is difficult for a non-specialist to know the impacts of a software at each stage according to all the traditional criteria of a stroke (eutrophication, soil acidification, climate change, human health…). However, it is possible to have a simplified approach, in order to estimate the impacts of the production and use phases on the basis of a few, but more easily determinable, criteria (energy consumption, greenhouse gas emissions). In the case of software, it may be instructive to divide the analysis of the phase of use between the "client" part (use by the user, on its machines) and the "servers" part (use by the user, but occurring in a distinct context) to better situate the target of progress efforts. Note that the "network" part also has an impact but that it often escapes the perimeter of influence of the software developer, unlike the "server" and "client" parts. To take a concrete approach, we advocate a pragmatic and common sense approach. We recommend that you begin by studying the relevance of the software - or the new functionality of existing software that you wish to develop. Is the requested functionality useful, indispensable, and optional? What will be its cost of development, but also its cost of maintenance, its impact on the needs of machine resources, on the server side and on the client side? Does it risk premature replacement of hardware? Eco-design begins with a critical analysis of the expected real value. After the decision to produce the software was made, come the general design steps. Particular attention should be paid to the optimization of the technical architecture and functional architecture, to the choice of possible languages and frameworks, in order to meet the "just need" without unnecessarily complicating or over-dimensioning the device planned. Finally comes the development phase itself: the software factory begins to operate. It is in this phase that GREENSPECTOR can particularly help you. Thanks to the functionalities of our tool, your development team can implement the principles of eco-design in order to reduce the impact of the software on the resources of the machines, which ultimately results in energy savings. To do this, the development team must measure the impact of its software (initially, then recurrently to avoid any drift) and work effectively to reduce them, feeding its action plan with expert suggestions of the tool.

  • Is there a label or a standardization of eco-design software?

    « Hé hé hé ». (in Obélix et Compagnie, © Dargaud)

  • What hardware and software are required?

    Call us! Our consultants will provide you with a technical prerequisite document that will answer this question.

  • I have a request about GREENSPECTOR development, how can I contribute?

    If you have ideas of features requests to share, we’ll be pleased to hear them. Feel free to tell us via the contact form.

  • What if I would like to work on GREENSPECTOR?

    If you’re looking for a career, for sure we’re always hiring talented developers. Please, feel free to fill the contact form or take a look at our career offers page!

Foire aux questions

  • Puis-je essayer GREENSPECTOR ?

    Bien sûr ! Si vous êtes intéressé par une démonstration ou un pilote, n’hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous.

  • Quel est le système de license de GREENSPECTOR ?

    Les licences GREENSPECTOR sont disponibles en location annuelle, avec maintenance corrective et évolutive incluse (versions majeures et mineures) ainsi que le support utilisateurs. Nous proposons différents niveaux de licences adaptables à votre contexte et à votre nombre de projets. L’unité de compte est le nombre de Projets actifs simultanément, ce qui signifie que vous pouvez à tout moment « archiver » des projets terminés pour créer de nouveaux projets.

  • Où est installé GREENSPECTOR ?

    La suite GREENSPECTOR est composée d’un serveur principal, d’un serveur d’analyse de code source, et de différents plug-ins et sondes selon vos besoins. Les plug-ins et sondes, cela va de soi, sont installés dans votre environnement : postes des développeurs, plate-forme d’intégration continue, etc… Pour l’hébergement des serveurs, nous préconisons de retenir notre offre d’installation « hybride » qui présente le meilleur rapport qualité-performance-prix. Dans cette configuration, le serveur principal de GREENSPECTOR est hébergé par nos soins (vous bénéficiez donc de toute la souplesse d’une offre « cloud ») mais le serveur d’analyse de code source est installé chez vous (ainsi le code source de vos logiciels ne sort pas de votre réseau interne). En option, nous proposons une installation « full cloud », ou bien à l’inverse d’installer entièrement la solution sur vos serveurs (offre « on premises »).

  • Quels langages de développement supportez-vous?

    L’analyse du code source des logiciels est une des fonctionnalités de GREENSPECTOR. Notez que nous recommandons une démarche plus large, étayée par la mesure et le pilotage des progrès et pas restreinte à l’analyse « statique » du code. Ceci étant dit, pour répondre à votre question, les langages et frameworks supportés actuellement sont : Java, Android JS, Angular JS, Node JS , HTML, CSS

  • Avez-vous un tarif " éducation " ?

    Nous sommes persuadés que l’apprentissage de l’écoconception fait partie des incontournables dans la formation des futurs informaticiens. C’est pourquoi nous proposons aux établissements d’enseignement supérieur (grandes écoles, universités…) des licences « éducation » à des tarifs significativement réduits. Si vous représentez un établissement d’enseignement, contactez-nous.

  • Quelle est la différence entre GREENSPECTOR et SONARQube ?

    SONARQube est une plate-forme très performante pour l’analyse statique de code source. Les référentiels de règles sont variés et pertinents dans le domaine de la qualité du code, de la sécurité, de la performance... GREENSPECTOR est une plate-forme très performante pour l’écoconception des logiciels. Cette démarche s’appuie en partie sur l’analyse statique du code source, réalisée sur la base d’un référentiel exclusif de règles soigneusement sélectionnées – et validées en laboratoire– pour les gains qu’elles apportent en termes d’efficience énergétique. Mais la démarche repose aussi et surtout sur la capacité à mesurer les consommations de ressources et d’énergie sur les plates-formes matérielles, pour vos différents cas de tests fonctionnels ou pourquoi pas lors des tests de charge. En conclusion, SONARQube et GREENSPECTOR sont complémentaires car ils ne poursuivent pas les mêmes objectifs. La preuve : si vous avez déjà une licence SONARQube, nous proposons un plug-in permettant de réaliser les audits de règles GREENSPECTOR via votre SONARQube habituel.

  • Je fais de la performance, je n'ai pas besoin de faire de l'écoconception logicielle ?

    Quand on fait de l'écoconception, on travaille sur l'efficience du logiciel, c'est-à-dire sur l’optimisation de la consommation de ressources suffisante pour répondre au besoin de l'utilisateur, et cela en gardant la même performance. Quand on travaille sur la performance, on se focalise sur l'optimisation du temps de réponse. La démarche de performance peut aller dans certains cas à l'encontre de l'efficience : par exemple pour un site web, pour afficher rapidement la page on va utiliser plusieurs serveurs (CDN), effectuer des traitements en fin de chargement de la page… ce qui va consommer beaucoup de ressources. Améliorer le niveau d'écoconception en même temps que la performance et travailler sur les deux domaines va permettre d'aller dans le même sens : plus de performance avec moins de ressources consommées.

  • Offrez-vous des services d'audit ponctuel?

    Oui. Nous sommes avant tout un éditeur de logiciel, mais nous réalisons des audits en appuyant la compétence de nos experts sur l’usage de nos outils. C’est souvent l’occasion de montrer qu’une approche par l’efficience, permet de résoudre des dysfonctionnements qui ont résisté aux approches de performance. Nous pouvons aussi vous recommander des partenaires compétents qui pourront réaliser ces audits pour vous.

  • Quelle est la différence entre GREENSPECTOR et les outils de performance du marché ?

    Ils sont complémentaires. On peut simplifier les outils de performance en deux domaines : les outils de profiling de ressources (Profiler JVM par exemple) et les outils de monitoring (New Relic, App Dynamics…). GREENSPECTOR se base dans certains cas sur les premiers, tout en simplifiant les constats et en fournissant au développeur des actions concrètes. Pas besoin d'être expert ou de maîtriser ces outils, GREENSPECTOR aide le développeur. Si une analyse plus poussée doit être faite, les outils de profiling peuvent prendre la suite de GREENSPECTOR. Pour les deuxièmes types d'outils (Monitoring), ils fournissent des informations de consommation de ressources mais dans un contexte de Production et en continu. L'approche de GREENSPECTOR est de travailler plus en amont (lors des développements) pour détecter au plus tôt les problèmes de surconsommation. De plus, GREENSPECTOR va travailler sur un périmètre plus ciblé (comme les tests fonctionnels), ce qui va permettre au développeur d'identifier plus vite le lien entre consommation de ressources et son code, donc d’être encore plus efficace dans ses corrections.

  • Avez-vous une offre de formation ?

    En tant qu’éditeur, nous accompagnons nos clients. Toute installation de notre outil s’accompagne d’une formation des futurs utilisateurs. Cette formation débute par le rappel des enjeux importants liés à la consommation énergétique de l’informatique dans le contexte de raréfaction des énergies que nous connaissons. Nous proposons également à nos clients des formations complémentaires sur l’usage de tel ou tel module de notre outil. Si vous êtes une entreprise de services du numérique (ESN, anciennement « SSII ») n’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour en savoir plus sur notre programme de partenariat.

  • Combien vais-je gagner en optimisant mon application ?

    C’est une bonne question, merci de l’avoir posée. Plus sérieusement : comme toute démarche de progrès, elle dépend étroitement de la situation initiale, du contexte particulier dans lequel vous êtes, et des efforts que vous entreprendrez pour progresser. Si vous êtes déjà un expert en écoconception, si votre équipe est à la pointe de l’expertise sur le sujet, votre application sera probablement très optimisée et les gains à espérer seront faibles. En revanche si - comme c’est souvent le cas - votre application a été développée avant tout dans des objectifs de respect des délais, de charge et de besoins fonctionnels sans recherche particulière d’efficience, alors il est probable que la marge de progrès sera plus importante.

  • Mais encore ?

    Nous ne faisons aucune promesse sur les gains que vous pourrez obtenir… . Mais nous sommes fiers des gains que nous avons permis à nos clients d’obtenir par le passé, comme par exemple 69% de ressources en moins sur un smartphone, 9% d’énergie en moins sur une application native du cœur Android AOSP ( ! ) ou encore un temps de réponse divisé par 3 pour une application métier utilisée par 120 000 salariés.

  • Qu'est ce que l'écoconception des logiciels ?

    L’écoconception des logiciels est une approche qui consiste à appliquer les principes de l’écoconception au processus de production d’un logiciel. C’est donc une démarche globale, qui vise à diminuer les impacts négatifs du logiciel sur l’environnement lors de toutes les étapes de son cycle de vie : conception, fabrication, utilisation, et fin de vie. La recherche sur l’Analyse de Cycle de Vie (ACV) des logiciels est encore peu fournie. Il est aujourd’hui délicat pour un non-spécialiste de connaître les impacts d’un logiciel à chaque étape selon l’ensemble des critères traditionnels d’une ACV (eutrophisation, acidification des sols, changement climatique, santé humaine…). Toutefois il est possible d’avoir une approche simplifiée, afin d’estimer selon quelques critères certes réducteurs mais plus facilement déterminables (consommation d’énergie, émission de gaz à effet de serre) les impacts des phases de fabrication et d’usage. S’agissant d’un logiciel, il pourra être instructif de scinder l’analyse de la phase d’usage entre la partie « cliente » (usage par l’utilisateur, sur ses machines) et la partie « serveurs » (nécessaire à l’usage par l’utilisateur, mais se produisant dans un contexte distinct) afin de mieux situer la cible des efforts de progrès. Notez que la partie « réseau » a également un impact mais qu’elle échappe bien souvent au périmètre d’influence du développeur de logiciel, contrairement aux parties « serveur » et « client ». Pour aborder concrètement la démarche, nous préconisons une approche pragmatique et de bon sens. Nous recommandons de commencer par bien étudier la pertinence du logiciel – ou de la fonctionnalité nouvelle d’un logiciel existant - que vous souhaitez développer. La fonctionnalité demandée est-elle utile, indispensable, facultative ? Quel sera son coût de développement, mais aussi son coût de maintenance, son impact sur les besoins en ressource machine, côté serveurs et côté client ?... Risque-t-elle d’engendrer un remplacement prématuré du matériel ? L’écoconception commence par une analyse critique de la valeur réelle attendue. Après que la décision de produire le logiciel a été prise, viennent les étapes de conception générale. Il convient de prêter une attention particulière à l’optimisation de l’architecture technique et de l’architecture fonctionnelle, au choix des langages et frameworks éventuels, afin de répondre « au juste besoin » sans complexifier inutilement, ni sur-dimensionner, le dispositif prévu. Enfin arrive la phase de développement proprement dite l’usine logicielle commence à fonctionner. C’est dans cette phase que GREENSPECTOR peut particulièrement vous aider. Grâce aux fonctionnalités de notre outil, votre équipe de développement peut mettre en œuvre les principes de l’écoconception afin de réduire les impacts du logiciel sur les ressources des machines, ce qui se traduit in fine par des gains d’énergie. Pour cela, l’équipe de développement doit mesurer les impacts de son logiciel (d’abord initialement, puis de manière récurrente afin d’éviter toute dérive) et travailler efficacement à les réduire, en alimentant son plan d’actions grâce aux suggestions expertes de l’outil.

  • Existe-t-il un label, ou une normalisation des logiciels éco-conçus ?

    « Hé hé hé ». (Obélix et Compagnie, © Dargaud)

  • Quels sont les matériels et les logiciels nécéssaires ?

    Appelez-nous ! Nos consultants vous remettront un document de pré-requis techniques qui répondra à cette question.

  • J'ai une demande concernant le développement de GREENSPECTOR, comment puis-je contribuer ?

    Si vous avez des idées de fonctionnalités à partager, nous serons heureux de les entendre. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter via le formulaire de contact.

  • J'aimerais travailler sur l'outil GREENSPECTOR !

    Si vous êtes à la recherche d'une carrière, nous recrutons toujours des développeurs talentueux. N’hésitez pas à remplir le formulaire de contact ou jeter un oeil à notre page de recrutement!